How To Delete A Sent Snap On Snapchat

Snapchat is an app that is perfect for sharing pictures and videos with your friends, family, or anyone really! It allows you to share different types of content from photos and videos to voice messages and chat features which means you can have a conversation with a friend without actually talking. However, if you mistakenly send a snap to someone that you were not supposed to, then you can delete a sent snap on Snapchat as well.

For deleting a sent snap on Snapchat, you need to go to the chat conversation that you want to delete snap from. Keep in mind that a snap once opened, cannot be deleted. So, head on to that conversation and delete the snap before the user gets the chance to look at it. You can simply open up the chat options and select the option to delete the snap.

What Are Snaps On Snapchat

What are snaps on Snapchat? Snaps are photos or videos that you send to one or more friends on Snapchat. They usually disappear after 1-10 seconds, although you can set them to last up to 24 hours. Snaps can be taken from within the Snapchat app or from your phone’s camera roll.

To send snaps, select one or more contacts from the list at the top of the screen then tap the blue arrow button in the bottom right corner. You can choose how long you want each friend to view your snaps: 1 second, 3 seconds, 5 seconds, 10 seconds, 20 seconds.

How to delete TikTok notifications
How to delete TikTok notifications

How To Delete Sent Messages On Snapchat

In Snapchat, your messages get immediately deleted once the receiver opens them. However, if you set a time duration then the message will only be deleted after the set time. If you want to instantly delete the message after sending it, then you can also do that. The receiver will not know when you delete a snap this way.

If you want to delete a sent message, whether it is a text, photo or video then long tap on the message. A pop up will appear and you can press on the delete option. Once you tap on delete then your message will be deleted immediately.

You can also delete a message from both ends which is the same process. However, when you delete a message on Snapchat, a notification will be present in the chat letting the receiver know that you deleted a snap that was sent.

Has Someone Seen My Snap On Snapchat

If you are a user who is wondering how to tell if someone has seen your message or snap on Snapchat then it is easy.

Firstly, a seen snap will automatically disappear from the chat list. If your query is towards any pictures or videos then it is different.

The basic indicators for a photo or video snap on Snapchat include Delivered, Opened, Saved, and Took A screenshot. Each of these indications let’s you know whether a user has seen your sent snap or message or not.

What Can You Unsend On Snapchat

The unsending feature is not available on Snapchat. However, deleting a message is similar to unsending the message. So, if you want to unsend either a text, sticker, meme, photo or video that you have sent to another user, just delete the message from the above mentioned steps. The message will then be unsent from the chat inbox.

Delete A Sent Snap On Snapchat

To delete a sent snap, be it a photo or video, you will need to follow the given process. But keep in mind that if the user has already opened the snap, then there will be no way in which you can delete it. Moreover, due to Snapchat’s automatic delete conversation feature, the option to delete a snap will not be present once the user opens it.

Step 1: Open Snapchat

First, you need to launch Snapchat by tapping on it. If your account is not logged in, then log in with your credentials.

Step 2: Go To Chat

Within Snapchat, swipe right or tap on the message icon on the bottom second-left to the screen. Your chat inbox will then open up.

Step 3: Check The Status Of The Snap

Open the chat conversation from which you want to delete a snap. Check the status of the snap and if it is not yet opened, then you can go forth with the option to delete it.

Step 4: Long Press The Message

To delete the snap, long press on the media. Options will then pop up from which you can choose the delete option.

Step 5: Choose The Delete Option

A pop up will open up asking to confirm whether you want to delete the snap. Tap on Delete to confirm it.

Step 6: Confirm Delete

Finally, your snap will then be deleted once you confirm the delete option. However, keep in mind that the user will get a message that you deleted a message.

Can You Delete A Snap That Someone Saved

You have the option to delete saved snaps on Snapchat as well. To do this, you can follow the same process as deleting a snap. However, if you want to just unsave a snap from the conversation then you can do that as well.

Step 1: Launch Snapchat

First, open Snapchat by tapping on the application. If you are not logged in, then log in using your credentials.

Step 2: Go To Chat Inbox

Either swipe right on your screen or tap on the message icon which is on the second left on the bottom of the screen. Your entire chat inbox will then open up.

Step 3: Open The Chat

From the inbox, choose the chat from where you want to delete a snap.

Step 4: Unsave Message

You can long press on the message and options will open up. You can unsave the chat by tapping on that option from the popup.

Step 5: Delete Message

And, if you want to completely delete the message then long press on the message again. Tap on the Delete option with the trash can icon. You will need to confirm the delete and it will be removed from the conversation.

How To Delete Opened Snapchat Pictures

This is a tricky part. If you are a user who is used to Snapchat then you know that messages disappear once you’ve sent them. Unless you place a timer for the messages, they will not be present once the receiver has opened the message.

This affects deleting snaps as well. If the user has opened the snap and the message has already disappeared then there is no way in which you can delete the snap.

So, before a user opens the message, you need to be quick and delete the message or snap that you have sent.

Frequently Asked Questions

Some frequently asked questions on how to delete a snap on Snapchat are below.

Can You Delete A Snap Before It’s Opened

The cleverly named ” Delete for Later” option will allow you to remove any of your sent Snaps, photos or videos without having the recipient have seen it yet! This could be really handy if someone sends something inappropriate and doesn’t want others seeing what was said – just tap on their message/photo then press firmly down until a pop-up appears with a Delete option. And with one touch everything gets zapped into thin air (if only literally).

What Happens When You Delete A Snap On Snapchat

You can delete messages from either side with a tap of your finger. This means that you’ll never have to worry about them! The person who receives the message will see it disappear and any notifications that were sent in response can go unnoticed as well, since they won’t receive anything if nothing was open at all when it arrived on their screen or read right away.

If You Delete A Snap Before It’s Viewed Can They See It

Tapping on the delete option in the messages will make it disappear. The person you sent this to won’t know what was sent, but as long as they didn’t open or read anything then it should be fine. But keep in mind that the user will get a notification of a deleted message and you may not want that. So, be mindful before you send a message in the first place.

Conclusion

In conclusion, you can easily delete a sent snap on Snapchat with it’s delete feature. The only thing to keep in mind is if the snap is opened or not. The unsend and delete feature are both for deleting a snap and you will only see the delete option in Snapchat. You can also delete snaps that are saved in the chat and can also use methods to unsave the snap. Overall, Snapchat has made it relatively easy for users to converse in this platform.

error: Content is protected !!