How To Make A Private Tiktok Account [Step-By-Step Guide]

Are you interested in opening a Tiktok account? But are you not on the Tiktok app to get famous or create a lot of videos and go viral and are just there to enjoy the Tiktok app and make videos for yourself? Then do not worry. You can easily use all the features available on the Tiktok app and still make videos for yourself and a few people that you want to put in your profile. Moreover, you can make sure that strangers and other people cannot get access to your profile and you can manage it to your liking. The feature that Tiktok has to make a private Tiktok account can be helpful for a lot of users. So, we provide you with a guide on how to create your private Tiktok account in a few simple steps.

To make a private Tiktok account, you need to first create a profile. Then, you can change the privacy setting to your profile from the settings option. Toggle the privacy option to turn it on and your profile will then immediately become private. The people who followed you before you made your profile private will still follow you but anyone else will need to send a request to make your profile private.

What Is Tiktok And How Does It Work

Tiktok is a social media app that is based on video creations. You can make short three-minute videos by using various features on the application. The features on the app include creating videos, making duets with other users, making use of the incredible music library that the Tiktok app has. You can also use other editing options to make your videos even more interesting. Overall, you can directly install the Tiktok app into your device and start using it, but to access all the features including the ability to start making videos, you need to create a Tiktok profile.

Differences Between Public And Private Tiktok Account

Before we get on with creating a private profile, you might be interested to know what are the differences between a private a public Tiktok profile? Are there any differences in the kind of features that you get on the app? Read further to know more.

How To Delete Tiktok Account Withou...
How To Delete Tiktok Account Without Phone Number

The main difference between a private and a public Tiktok profile is that outsiders need to send a request to follow your account before they can see your content in your profile. In a public account, anyone can follow you and then can directly look at the videos that are in the profile.

However, in a private account, users need to request to look at the content in your profile, The following requests will appear in the activity section on the Tiktok app. Anyone who already follows you before making your account private will still follow you. However, when you make your account private, any other user will need to request to access your profile.

Once you make your Tiktok profile private, you have an extra option to change the commenting settings in your Tiktok posts. You can keep interactions with either only your friends or your followers in your profile. The friend’s option includes people who follow you and you follow too. And, the followers include people who follow you but you do not follow back.

How To Make Private Tiktok Account

So, now that you know of the basic difference between a private and a public profile in Tiktok, here are the ways in which you can make a private Tiktok account. Remember that none of the features on the Tiktok app get affected by this change. The only difference is the access to your profile and your profile settings.

Make Private Tiktok In iOS Device

First, here are the steps to make Tiktok account private on an iOS device.

Step 1: Launch Tiktok In Your Device

First, launch the Tiktok app on your device by tapping on it. You can then log in to your account using your account credentials.

Step 2: Go To Profile

On the bottom right corner of the screen, tap on the Me icon to get to your Tiktok profile.

Step 3: Get To Privacy

In your profile, tap on the three-dot icon on the top right corner of the screen. From the options that come up, tap on Privacy to get to your privacy settings.

Step 4: Make Account Private

Finally, in the options that come up, you can toggle the option to turn your profile private to on. When your account is private, the toggle icon will change from grey to green.

Use Android To Make Private Tiktok Account

Similar to an iOS device, you can also make your Tiktok account private on an Android device. To do this, you can follow the steps given below.

Step 1: Launch Tiktok In Your Device

First, open the Tiktok app on your device by tapping on it. Then, log in to your account with your account credentials.

Step 2: Go To Tiktok Profile

On the bottom right corner of the screen, tap on the Me icon to access your profile.

Step 3: Tap On Three Lined Icon

In your profile, tap on the three-lined icon on the top right corner of the screen.

Step 4: Go To Privacy

From the options that come up, tap on the Privacy option to get to your privacy settings.

Step 5: Set Private Account

From the tab that opens up, you can then toggle the option to turn your account private to ‘on’. The toggle icon needs to turn green for it to be activated.

What Happens When You Make Tiktok Account Private

So, now that you learned how to make your Tiktok account private, what exactly happens when you change your public account to private?

First, your profile information is completely shielded off from other users unless they follow you. The videos that you post and any other personal information you put on the Tiktok profile will not be visible. However, having a private profile does not mean that you can violate the terms and conditions of Tiktok. So, you will still need to make sure that your videos and content are in line with those requirements.

Next, unlike a public profile where you can only set the commenting to a Tiktok post to ‘everyone’; you can also set commenting to either ‘friends’ or ‘followers’ from the comment settings in your profile. The two options make it helpful for your profile to be even more curated and safer for you to browse through.

Make Tiktok Account Public

You can make your Tiktok account public again after making it private. To do this, follow the steps given below.

Step 1: Go To Tiktok In Your Device

First, tap on the Tiktok app on your device to access it. You can log in to your Tiktok account by using your login credentials.

Step 2: Open Profile

On your home screen, tap on the Me iconic in the bottom right corner of the screen to access your Tiktok profile.

Step 3: Go To Privacy

In your profile, tap on the three dots icon on the top right corner of the screen. From the options that come up, go to the Privacy settings of your Tiktok profile.

Step 4: Turn Private Account Off

Finally, toggle the ‘Private Account’ option back to off to turn your Tiktok profile public. The toggle icon is green when it is turned on and must be grey once it is off and back to being a public profile.

Frequently Asked Questions

Some frequently asked questions on how to make a private Tiktok account are below.

What Does A Private Tiktok Account Look Like

When you open the account of someone who has a private Tiktok account, you will see the ‘This account is private’ message on the screen. You cannot see any of the video content that the person has posted on their profile. Moreover, you will need to request to follow the account to see their content.

How To Make Your Tiktok Account Private In Computer

On your computer, you can go to the settings option in your profile. From there, you can choose to make the Tiktok profile public or private. Even if you make your account private on your desktop, this will be applicable across all your Tiktok profiles on all devices.

Conclusion

In conclusion, this is how you can create an account in Tiktok and post videos without having to worry about who can see the posts. The power to curate your profile to your liking is in your hands and you can then make sure that the content you put up is the kind your like. With a private profile, browsing through Tiktok become safer, easier, and fun. So, go ahead and make your profile private and ensure your time on the app is not corrupted by random strangers.

Also Read: How To Change Your Age In Tiktok

error: Content is protected !!