How To

How To Delete Contacts On The Telegram App: Android And iPhone 2021

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Telegram is a free messaging, and engaging application that has unique features as we get on WhatsApp, Facebook,  Instagram, etc. We can also add unlimited friends on Telegram. But the problem arises when we add random users on social media, either it’s about privacy or spammy messages from users. And expect blocking or deleting them from the contact we don’t have any option. So, if you are also planning to remove contacts on the telegram app but don’t know how to delete contact then don’t worry!

To delete telegram contact on the Telegram app: open the telegram app, choose a user from the chat list, click on the profile picture, tap three vertical dots and choose to Delete contact and confirm.

But wait! just deleting them from your telegram is not enough sometimes, either you have to delete them from your device or you can disable auto-sync contact and remove the contact, this will remove that contact from your Telegram account. So, without wasting your time, let’s start step by step guide to delete telegram contact manually, all contacts at once, and successfully remove them from your Telegram forever.

How To Delete Telegram Contacts On Andriod and iPhone 2021

Since there are no inbuilt options or features to delete your multiple contacts, you have to delete your telegram contacts one by one. So, if you want to know how? Follow the steps mentioned below according to your device.

Steps to Delete Telegram Contacts using Android device

If you are using the Telegram application on your Android device then to delete telegram contacts follow the steps mentioned below;

  1.  Open the Telegram app on your Android device
  2. After that, tap three horizontal line
  3. Now, tap Contacts from the left panel
  4. After that, tap contact you want to remove
  5. And tap Profile or Username
  6. Click on the three vertical dots
  7. Choose Delete
  8. Finally, click the OK button.

Once you delete the telegram contact don’t forget to delete chat history with them after that, your contact will be deleted from your telegram account.

Steps to Delete Telegram Contacts using iPhone device

If you are using the Telegram application on your iOS device then to delete telegram contacts follow the steps mentioned below;

  1.  Open the Telegram app on your iPhone
  2. Now, tap Contacts from the bottom navigation bar
  3. And choose a contact or search contact you want to remove
  4. Now, tap Profile or Username
  5. After that, tap Edit
  6. And Choose Delete Contact
  7. Finally, confirm to delete and Done.

Once you delete contacts don’t forget to delete chat history with them.

How to Delete Telegram Contacts At Once

Let me ensure you that the Telegram app doesn’t have any inbuilt features to delete your Telegram contacts at once however you can remove contacts one by one or use Telegram Web to delete telegram contacts at once, To do so follow the steps;

  • Open Telegram Web on any web-browser
  • Login to your Telegram account
  • Tap Menu (three horizontal lines)
  • Click on the Contacts from the menu
  • And tap Edit
  • Now, choose multiple contacts you want to delete at once
  • Finally, click on the Delete button and confirm.

Similarly, follow the steps each time to delete each contact one by one.

Tips to Delete your Telegram Contacts Forever 2021

Even though when you delete your telegram contacts you see them in your contacts list, it is because you have the telegram cache on your device so, make sure you also clear the cache and delete synced contacts before disabling sync contacts.

If you don’t know how to delete synced Telegram contacts and disable sync contacts on Telegram then, to do so follow the steps mentioned below according to their headings:

Tip 1: Disable Sync Contacts from the Telegram app

[Note: Disabling auto-sync is important: if you want to remove telegram contacts forever.]

Before you delete synced contacts from the telegram application make sure you disable auto-sync contacts because even after you remove contacts from the telegram you will see them again, due to the feature telegram sync contact.

Either you delete contacts from your device contact or disable the sync feature so if you want to turn off auto-sync contacts on Telegram, follow the steps mentioned below:

  1. Open the Telegram application
  2. Go to the three horizontal lines from the top left corner
  3. Now, tap Settings
  4. And go to the Privacy and Security
  5. Scroll down to Contacts
  6. Tap the Toggle button to Disable Sync Contacts.

[Note: Make sure when you toggle the button there is no blue light in the toggle button if your toggle button has blue light: it means still your auto-sync contact is activated.]

Tip 2: Delete contacts manually on the Telegram app

If you don’t want to delete all contacts at once then you can also delete individual contacts from the Telegram app. You can pick contacts whom you want to remove from the contact. To do so, follow the steps:

  1. Open the Telegram application
  2. Now, choose a contact from the chat list or go to the contacts
  3. Open chat with the contact you want to remove
  4. Click on the Profile picture
  5. Tap three vertical dots from the top right corner
  6. Select Delete contact
  7. Finally, click on the DELETE button.

These are the steps to delete telegram contact manually, if you want to delete it all at once then you can go through the steps mentioned below.

Tip 3: Delete synced contacts at once from the Telegram app

If you have disabled auto sync contacts then now you can delete all synced contacts from the telegram app to remove someone forever, to do so follow the steps:

  • Open the Telegram application
  • Tap three horizontal lines from the top left corner
  • Now, go to the Settings
  • Under Settings, tap Privacy and Security
  • Scroll down to Contacts
  • Tap Delete synced Contacts
  • Finally, click on the DELETE button.

FAQs: Frequently Asked Questions

So, here are some of the frequently asked questions regarding delete telegram contacts on the Telegram app, this might be useful for you:

If I delete a contact on telegram will they know?

On the telegram app, there is no such way to find out who has deleted you from their contact. Somehow they will know that you have deleted them from your contact someday.

But, you don’t have to worry about what happens if they knew that you have deleted them from your contact because if they deserve not to be on your contact list then simply delete them.

What does delete synced contacts on telegram means?

Delete synced contacts on telegram means to delete the contact who has been synced on your telegram account from your device. In other words, to delete those contact whom you have saved on your device and uses telegram.

When you save your friend’s contact on your device, you can easily access them on Telegram account as well, if they also use Telegram. So, when you sync contacts on the telegram app, all the contacts having Telegram will be displayed.

Also Read:

How To Delete Multiple Messages On The Telegram App

How To Delete Your Telegram Account Permanently

In Conclusion

There you go, here in this article, you will find step by step procedure to remove your Telegram contact manually using Android and iPhone and delete contacts at once. Besides, we have added some important tips that you should follow to successfully remove the contact from your telegram account. We hope you will like this article and all steps are understandable.

If you have any queries or suggestions regarding this article then don’t hesitate to comment. We are also here to solve your problem.

And if you want more helpful guidance on the Telegram app then, you can go to Telegram Tips.

Thank You.

Write A Comment