Are you also getting “other viewers” on the Facebook story? Other viewers are users who view your Facebook story but are not friends with you on Facebook. But how to see other viewers on a Facebook story? Read this article to find the answer to the question.
Unfortunately, you cannot see other viewers on the Facebook story. If your Facebook story’s privacy is “Public,” you can only see the number of other people who views your story but not the name. Facebook has decided to keep this information confidential.
What Do Other Viewers Mean On Facebook Story?
People who watch your story but are not friends with you on Facebook are other viewers when you post a public story. The Facebook users who are viewing the story but are not friends with the user are under the category of other friends. So, for example, if it says,”3 other people viewed your story, ” three people you are not friends with have viewed your story.
Facebook has a feature where you can make your story available to be seen by everyone by switching the story privacy to public. Therefore, when you have put up a Facebook story with the privacy Public, it can have views from users you are not friends with.
A private story can only be viewed by the people you choose to share it with. So if your story is private, other viewers will not be an option. If your story is public, you will see other viewers beneath it. Making your stories private restricts access to those who you are friends with.
How To See Other Viewers On Facebook Story?
Unfortunately, you cannot see other viewers on the Facebook story. If your Facebook story’s privacy setting is set to “Public,” you can only see the number of other people who views your story. Facebook has decided to keep this information confidential.
Facebook does not display the identities of those “other” viewers. You will be able to see the total number of individuals who have watched your story, including those who are not Facebook friends with you; as Facebook does not publish the names or profiles of those “others,” you will be unable to see the other viewers on Facebook.
Why Is Someone’s Name Missing From The Viewers On Facebook Story?
When a Facebook friend of yours blocks you on Facebook right after they view your story, the user’s name will go missing from the viewer’s list. Instead of displaying the name, it will be counted under the viewers and displayed as one viewer instead of showing the name.
When you have put up a story after changing the privacy, but you are still seeing one viewer under your story, it means that one of your friends has blocked you out of their account or you have blocked them, which is why their name is missing from the list of viewers and is only shown by number.
Hence you won’t be able to view their profile name; instead, it will be shown as the number of other viewers.
How To Prevent Others From Viewing Your Story?
You can easily prevent accounts other than your Facebook friends from seeing your story. To do that, you must change your story’s privacy to friends. Whenever you post any story with the privacy settings changed to Friends, that particular story won’t be available for the public to view. Only Facebook accounts under your friend list can view that story, i.e., only your friends can view the story and no one else.
Follow the below steps to prevent others from viewing your story,
Step 1: First, open the Facebook app and log into your account.
Step 2: Now, tap on the three horizontal lines from the top right corner of the screen.
Step 3: Then tap on the setting and privacy.
Step 4: After that, tap the settings option under settings and privacy.
Step 5: Scroll down a little and tap on the Stories.
Step 6: Then, tap on the story privacy from the screen.
Step 7: Tap on friends to change the privacy and save the changes.
Why Can’t You See Viewers Who You Are Not Friends With On Facebook?
Here are some reasons why you cannot see viewers you are not friends with on Facebook.
The primary reason why there is not an official way to see the other viewer is privacy reasons. It would be a public relations nightmare for Facebook if there were a way for non-friends to view your story and users to know about it. We all look up friends, former friends, exes, and coworkers on Facebook, and we don’t want other people to know when we do.
Facebook Thinks You Don’t Care To See Them
You likely don’t care about who you are not friends with viewing your story. So Facebook is using the space only to show you those who you are friends with rather than a bunch of people you potentially won’t even know. Thus, Facebook groups them as “Other” viewers so that you can focus on your friends who saw your story.
Other Viewers Are People You Don’t Know Anything About
People want to share their lives with people they know and love. Sharing a story on Facebook is a great way to do this. However, some people are not who you intend to share your story with.
For example, people can stalk your profile, find your phone number, and harass you. Because the people in the other viewer’s section are not who you have intended to share your story with, Facebook does not bother showing you who is on the list. You can make your profile private, so there are no “Other” viewers.
The List Will Be Too Long
Another reason Facebook probably has not made it possible for you to see the “other” viewers list is that the list would end up being too long, especially if you were a popular creator. Loads of people who are not your friend would be viewing your Facebook story, and this would cause the list to be insanely long.
Does “Other Viewers” Mean That I Am Blocked On Facebook?
“Other viewers” on your Facebook story views can mean you are blocked. However, that is extremely unlikely. “Other viewers” are people who viewed your story that you are not friends with on Facebook. When you are blocked on Facebook, you won’t be able to see the person’s posts and stories, and you will be removed as a friend.
Neither can the person see your posts nor the stories. However, if the person saw your story and blocked you immediately, you will see one viewer on your story views instead. You won’t be able to see the person’s name. If the person unblocks you, adds you on Facebook, and you accept it, their name will re-appear on your story.
How To See How Many Other Viewers Are There Under Your Facebook Story?
Follow the steps below to see how many other viewers are under your Facebook story.
Step 1: First, open the Facebook app on your device and log into your account if you have not already.
Step 2: Then tap on “create a story” from the screen.
Step 3: Choose any photo or video you want to upload to your story.
Step 4: Then tap on the screen’s share button from the bottom-right side.
Step 5: Now, wait for a few minutes and open your Facebook story.
Step 6: Below the story, you will find the list of viewers (other viewers) who have watched your story.
Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)
Here are some frequent questions about Facebook related to the topic.
How To See Who Is Stalking Your Facebook Profile?
You cannot exactly know who is stalking you. However, you can learn how to monitor your Facebook posts and stories. It can be a great way to learn who is stalking your Facebook profile.
Can You See How Many Times Someone Views Your Facebook Story?
No, you cannot tell whether someone has repeatedly watched your Facebook story or only viewed it once. However, you can see the number of times people have seen it. Nothing will change visually, and you won’t be notified about multiple views from the same person. The one thing you can see is how many views your story has.
Can Someone See That I Viewed Their Facebook Story If We Are Not Friends?
If you are not friends with someone but view their story on Facebook, then the user won’t be able to see your name on the story viewers list. But it will only show you as one viewer at the bottom of the viewer’s list. Only when you are friends with the user will your name be visible if you see their story.
Knowing who has seen your stories is critical for both privacy and safety. Unfortunately, if you change your privacy option to “Public,” people you are not friends with won’t be able to see who viewed your story. You cannot see who other viewers are because Facebook purposefully hides them. If someone blocks you immediately after seeing your story, you will see “1 viewer” in your story views since you won’t be able to view their profile.
I hope you enjoyed reading the article. Thank you for sticking with us till the end!